I’ve done a lot of flying with my feet on the ground

I’ve been looking for one word to describe Noah Gundersen and I think I’ve finally come up with it: earnest.

Noah doesn’t try to be anything more, or anything less, than what he is, doesn’t try to do anything more than what he set out to do.  I’ve found that I really respect this quality in an artist, this humility and self-awareness that is well beyond the his years and well outside of what the industry or instant gratification asks of him.

For artists that you wholeheartedly fall for, I find that there is often one song in particular that catches you off guard and really resonates with you in a way you could not have anticipated but cannot quite shake.

For me, this song was “Jesus, Jesus” off of Gundersen’s 2009 album Saints and Liars.  While the melody is simple and earnest, the lyrics are what really do me in.

Jesus, Jesus, there are those that say they love you
But they have treated me so damn mean
And I know you said ‘forgive them for they know not what they do’
But sometimes I think they do
And I think about you

At this point, I do not feel like I can do Gundersen much more justice by continuing writing about; rather, I feel that I should let his music speek for itself:

On “the relationship between a person and a substance that you tend to abuse and then get over and then so easily fall back into,” – “Cigarettes”

And, Noah Gundersen and sister Abby Gundersen – “Dying Now,” a song of stark realization that you are carrying on an unfulfilling life:

And I think about youI’ve done a lot of living in this town,
I’ve done a lot of flying with my feet on the ground.
You can’t build you bridges after you’ve burned them down,
I’ve done a lot of living but I’m dying now.

And lastly, to end on a far less somber note, “Caroline”

What I would have given to be there sing-clapping along for this rendition.. luckily I’ll be seeing Noah open for David Ramirez this Saturday night in St. Louis at Cicero’s!

Leave a Reply

