You were an avalanche, I was a city perched desperately close to the mountain

It was getting late last night (morning) when I made my post gushing about Noah Gundersen so the time could be to blame; however, I do feel I should be honest with you and admit that part of me, at some level, was tempted to keep bits of what I love about Noah Gundersen as my sort of secret.

Joining forces with his sisters Abby and Elizabeth as well as brother Jonathan, the Gundersens sing and harmonize in an effortless, ethereal way that makes me wish I shared their same talent and last name.

Almost a capella, the Gundersen siblings’ voices lean into the tensions of the harmonies, crescendoing at just the right moment and then ever so delicately pulling back, letting their voices resonate and linger into the silence.

This chapel performance cover of Crosby Stills and Nash’s “Helplessly Hoping” has never ceased to give me chills:

I’m not the religious sort, yet I would wake up to this doxology every morning:

And though this post is going to have far disparportionately too many videos, I relate to Gundersen music as if it were water and recognize that whatever floodgate should be monitoring my reaction to it has long since collapsed:

And as a send off, although Abby and Noah take the lead, the younger Gundersen siblings have set off on their own, creating their project “Le Wrens”

One thought on “You were an avalanche, I was a city perched desperately close to the mountain

Leave a Reply

