sundaes and collaborating

If your favorite artist’s songs are like scoops of ice cream, for me consuming moments when these same artists join forces and collaborate on one song is an ice cream sundae.  And I inhale the whole thing.

There is something especially magical and decidedly unique about a collaborative performance between 1, 2, 3 (the more, in my opinion the better) of the artists you love.

The energy is infectious as each performer plays off one another, allowing you to experience a completely new side of the artists that you thought you knew so well.  There is no star, no face forced to shine through; rather, the individual pieces combine to create something far greater than the sum of its parts.

Not convinced? Give these collaborations a listen:

In a passionate encore, David Bazan, William Fitzsimmons, Mariah McManus, Noah Gundersen, Abby Gundersen, and Chris Carrabba cover Bob Dylan’s “I Shall Be Released” (don’t miss from 3:29 on)

Up next, a collab including Allen Stone,  Kris Orlowski, Mychal Cohen of Campfire Ok, and some other talented folk..

Listening to this over and over, Neil Young’s “Hey Hey, My My” in Seattle performed by Lerin Herzer, Andrew Joslyn Hannalee, Goldfinch, Naomi Wachira, and Noah, Jonny, Abby, and Lizzy Gundersen.  The echo resonating in the Cathedral at 2:42 stops me in my tracks..

And now that since my last post you’re officially Daughter converts, brace yourself for the forces of Daughter and Ben Howard to unite and erupt, especially from 6:15 on ..

Kris Orlowski, Campfire OK, and Lemolo team up on Kris’ “Your Move.”

One last video,the perfect send-off, be prepared for chills: Bon Iver and the Staves ethereally layer lush harmonies in “re:Stacks”

Why am I so hopelessly enamored with collaborations?  I think it has something to do with the fact that I can almost picture myself as just one extra voice among many .. or an unnecessary but somehow obligatory tambourine player joining in on the side.

Leave a Reply

