Ringing in my head, when you broke my chest

Haunting, hazy.

Elena Tonra, frontwoman of the London’s emerging folk duo Daughter, is a master of chillingly fragile tensions and contradictions.

Elena’s voice is incredibly delicate and vulnerable; yet, at the same time almost despite itself, maintains an air of strength, pure and piercing. From the amount of emotion that she effuses especially in live performance, it is clear that Elena’s lyrics are not too far from home.  As UK blog Outline Online sums Daughter’s style rather well: “dazzlingly emotive, fucked-up folk.”  

Ruminating on heartbreak, raw and expansive, Daughter is not a force to be missed.

Pick up her first EP His Young Heart on bandcamp and her newest release The Wild Youth on amazon, find her on facebook.

And now a Daughter sampling:

Youth:

And if you’re still breathing, you’re the lucky ones
‘Cause most of us are heaving through corrupted lungs
Setting fire to our insides for fun
Collecting names of the lovers that went wrong
The lovers that went wrong

Medicine:

You could still be,
What you want to,
What you said you were,
When you met me.

Candles:

Blow out all the candles, blow out all the candles
“You’re too old to be so shy,” he says to me so I stay the night
Just a young heart confusing my mind, but we’re both in silence
Wide-eyed, both in silence, like we’re in a crime scene

Peter:

Oh Peter,
I can dream no more
I’ve been chasing all of yours
That I’ve forgotten what it was that I wanted
That I want

Leave a Reply

